www.monumentaustralia.org.au

Edward John Eyre ExpeditionPrint Page Print this page

05-March-2019
05-March-2019

Photographs supplied by Alan Doyle

The monument commemorates Edward John Eyre`s expedition of 1839. 

On 1 May 1839 Edward John Eyre left Adelaide with a party of five men on an expedition to the north. At that time no-one had been further north than the head of Spencer Gulf. On his way he discovered a river which he named the Broughton, but north of the gulf he found the country more barren. He continued along the edge of the ranges, first seen by Flinders in 1802, but the outlook from one of the peaks was discouraging and he turned back.

In August, Eyre again set out to explore the inland. This time he decided to sail to Port Lincoln and begin his trek from there. With four white men and two Aborigines he followed the coast to Streaky Bay where he set up a depot. He and one Aborigine rode on for another 100 miles, but finding inhospitable country and little water, they were forced back. The party then struck east across the peninsula, which now bears his name, and made for their old camping site in the Flinders Ranges. From there Eyre travelled further north than on his first trip and sighted the large lake now called Lake Torrens. He returned to Adelaide in October.

Location

Address:Nonning Road, Mount Ive, 5717
State:SA
Area:AUS
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -32.523842
Long: 136.151651
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map

Details

Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Landscape
Sub-Theme:Exploration
Actual Event Start Date:24-September-1839
Actual Event End Date:24-September-1839

Dedication

Front Inscription

Edward John Eyre

September 24, 1839

Camp No 7

Streaky Bay      Depot Creek

 

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design