Memorial WalkwayPrint Page Print this page

The Memorial Walkway commemorates those who served in World War Two.

The walkway leads down to the World War One Memorial, and it comprises 42 small, sandstone pillars engraved with the names of all the countries in which Australians fought during World War Two, with rosemary bushes between them.

Each pillar has a stone or stones from the relevant country inset at the top. In addition there are two similar pillars and a small sandstone block with 'Australia Remembers' plaques attached.



Address:Meadow Crescent, Memorial Park, Meadowbank, 2114
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.813611
Long: 151.086944
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Walkway
Monument Theme:Conflict
Actual Event Start Date:03-September-1939
Actual Event End Date:15-August-1945
Designer:A. Powe (architect)


Left Side Inscription

Sincere Appreciation Is
Extended To The Following
For Their Contribution To
This Memorial

The Federal Government

Donors And Carriers Of
Commemorative Stones

Public Subscribers

RSLs Of The District

Ryde City Council

Australia Remembers

Right Side Inscription

This Memorial Is Dedicated To

The Men And Women Of Australia Who
Served During The Second World War

All Australians Who Played A Role In
Keeping The Country Functioning
During Those Long Years

The Sorrows And Difficulties Of The
Widows, Widowers, Children And Families
Of Those Veterans Who Did Not Return
Or Died In The Intervening Years

The Youth Of Australia Who Are Our Future
14 November, 1997

John Howard MP                     Col McKinnon, Chairman
Prime Minister of Australia       Bennelong Australia 
Member for Bennelong            Remembers Committee 

Australia Remembers

Inscription in Proximity

The Bennelong Australia Remembers Committee
                         Comprised Of 
            The Hon J W Howard MP  (Patron)
Col McKinnon (Chairman), G Boath,     C Brown,
J Clough,    J Fairbairn,  P Graham,      T Higgins,
J Hull,         J Jackson,   F Larbalestier,
M Lardell,    K Long,       S Mason,         B McGowan,
W Phipson, K Prince,     S Preece,         A Taylor,
J Waddell,   T Williams,  N Woods

Concept and design of the memorial by A Powe, B. Arch.

Source: MA,NRWM
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design